Profweb

Search results

Publications in Profweb (639)

Real Life Stories

Producing Videos with Tablets to Facilitate Student Review

Published April 9, 2018  |  Chemistry

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb
Shazia Syed Teacher, Heritage College

Since Chemistry can be a challenging subject for students, I am always looking for creative ways to engage the students and to more effectively share the subject matter. With the realization that students often turn to online videos as a learning resource, I decided to create my own. In doing so, I could provide the students with videos that would be specific to their learning needs. After researching a few solutions, I began using an app on my tablet called ShowMe to produce summary videos for my students.

Real Life Stories

Using Factile to Make Engaging Review Sessions

Published April 16, 2018  |  English (Second Language)

Simon Côté-Massicotte Editor, Profweb

Keeping students focused and motivated is a constant challenge for teachers, especially in classes where a lot of the material has to be learnt by heart. An effective way to address that issue is to turn review sessions into games: the informal context allows students to relax and the friendly competition keeps them motivated. The web-based application, Factile, which I have used in my English for Adventure Tourism class, allows you to turn your classroom into the set of Jeopardy and make your review sessions efficient and entertaining.

Articles
ICT Profile

Crowd Sourcing Review Questions with PeerWise

Published September 19, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

The thought of using student-generated content in your teaching may at first seem absurd. However, nowadays the social norm in terms of learning is changing with Web 2.0 websites and applications that are constructed of user-generated rather than expert-generated content. The huge repositories of videos (You Tube), images (Instagram), social profiles (Facebook) all of which have been contributed by other users are now being used for learning. Students are becoming more and more familiar with the value of user-generated content.

Featured Reports

The Video Teleconference - A Valuable Academic Tool

Published December 16, 2007  |  Multidisciplinary

Martine Chomienne Educational Advisor, Cégep à distance

The video teleconference has come of age! Easy-to-use and efficient, it is advantageous to become familiar with its operation.

Articles

Getting Ready for the Return: Some Articles to Review

Published August 19, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb

Whether you are still on vacation or back to work, you probably weren’t saved from the numerous advertisements announcing the imminent return to the classroom which began cropping up in mid-July. I think that it is better to get back in the beat slowly, which is why I thought you might want to take a look at some of our publications from June 2016 that featured our favourite articles and end of year events. Sometimes forgotten due to the frenetic pace of vacation (I won’t hold it against you!), these articles surely deserve a second chance.

Real Life Stories

“Video Selfies” in Class

Published October 27, 2015  |  Mathematics

Charles Laporte Teacher, Collège LaSalle

The idea to suggest to my students that they use their mobile device to make videos came to me while I was presenting the solution to a problem in my Linear Algebra and Vector Geometry class. I wanted to let the students put mathematics operations into their own words, so that they could verbalize what they were thinking and explain the solution while they were doing it. Doing this with a paper-based assignment seemed a bit too laborious. Instead, why not try to use a selfie video (filming themselves)? This also allowed me to touch on one of the higher levels of competency in Bloom’s Taxonomy (we moved from working on matrices to explaining and even analysing these operations while in the process of resolving them).

Articles

It's Easy to Make Video Screencaptures!

Published December 15, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Catherine Rhéaume Editor, Profweb

Profweb presents an overview of the steps required to produce video capsules for the flipped classroom and elsewhere. Included in this material is an explanation of how to use the CamStudio to quickly and easily make screencaptures of material for your students.

Real Life Stories

How To Accounting Video Tutorials

Published March 14, 2010  | 

Gerry LaRocca Teacher, Vanier College

Gerry LaRocca envisioned using Camtasia to create a screen capture and recording to help clearly and effectively communicate how to solve accounting problems through a series of  'How To Accounting Video Tutorials'.

Articles

An Inexpensive Approach to Making Video Tutorials

Published October 3, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

Short, concise video tutorials can be an effective way to explain theory or demonstrate a concept. Students can watch the video as many times as they need and the video can serve as a refresher material for students prior to evaluations. The cost to produce a video has diminished with the arrival of a number of free software tools and services that are provided for free to users. What follows is a proposition for a short workflow to create video tutorials using open source software and free services.

Real Life Stories

Videos, Google Forms and the Flipped Classroom

Published August 24, 2015  |  Physics

Emmanuelle Goulet Teacher, Cégep du Vieux Montréal

It was a bit of a fluke that I integrated the flipped classroom approach into my pedagogy during the winter of 2012. In the beginning, it was a solution to ensure that classes would start up again after the student strike. Since then I have been using this method by choice and for the pleasure of the experience of flipping some of my classes. With the right tools and the support of the ICT Education Advisor from my college, the transition to a flipped classroom went very well.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Articles

Published January 18, 2018

3 Platforms to Create Video-Based Tasks that Actively Engage Students

Andy Van Drom Editor, Profweb

In 2018, cell phones, tablets and computers combined with free applications or software give us the ability to create high quality video and broadcast it within moments. The internet gives us access to vast free video resources. Yet in spite of these technological innovations, students still consume digital media mostly passively in classroom settings. Three free online platforms allow you to create different types of video-based tasks that engage your students more actively.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Educational Advisor, Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Page 1 of 68