Profweb

Search results

Publications in Profweb (291)

Articles

Getting Ready for the Return: Some Articles to Review

Published August 19, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb

Whether you are still on vacation or back to work, you probably weren’t saved from the numerous advertisements announcing the imminent return to the classroom which began cropping up in mid-July. I think that it is better to get back in the beat slowly, which is why I thought you might want to take a look at some of our publications from June 2016 that featured our favourite articles and end of year events. Sometimes forgotten due to the frenetic pace of vacation (I won’t hold it against you!), these articles surely deserve a second chance.

Real Life Stories

Producing Videos with Tablets to Facilitate Student Review

Published April 9, 2018  |  Chemistry

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb
Shazia Syed Teacher, Heritage College

Since Chemistry can be a challenging subject for students, I am always looking for creative ways to engage the students and to more effectively share the subject matter. With the realization that students often turn to online videos as a learning resource, I decided to create my own. In doing so, I could provide the students with videos that would be specific to their learning needs. After researching a few solutions, I began using an app on my tablet called ShowMe to produce summary videos for my students.

Real Life Stories

Music, eBooks and Notes at the Tip of Your Fingers!

Published December 14, 2015  |  Music

Ian Murphy Teacher, Cégep de Drummondville

I’ve always been interested in technological advances, especially its contribution towards supporting learning. This interest has influenced my teaching style and my pedagogical approach with students, and has allowed me to find digital solutions to various problems that crop up in the music program.

Real Life Stories

Using Factile to Make Engaging Review Sessions

Published April 16, 2018  |  English (Second Language)

Simon Côté-Massicotte Editor, Profweb

Keeping students focused and motivated is a constant challenge for teachers, especially in classes where a lot of the material has to be learnt by heart. An effective way to address that issue is to turn review sessions into games: the informal context allows students to relax and the friendly competition keeps them motivated. The web-based application, Factile, which I have used in my English for Adventure Tourism class, allows you to turn your classroom into the set of Jeopardy and make your review sessions efficient and entertaining.

Articles

Humanities and IT – Tips for Successful Integration

Published September 21, 2014  |  Humanities

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

This year Profweb will publish a series of discipline-specific articles on the tools and ICT strategies that you can easily incorporate into YOUR teaching. Not only will each article provide an overview of inspiring material available in Profweb, but these summaries will help you have a clear and accurate picture of available resources elsewhere in the network and beyond.

Articles

Tricks and Tips to Facilitate Learning

Published May 11, 2009  | 

Isabelle Trudeau Educational Advisor, Cégep à distance

The success of our students is at the heart of our mission, and the raison d'être of our organizations. And regardless of whether we provide in-class instruction or deliver distance education, we are always looking for ways to assist our students to develop their personal and professional skills.

Articles

5 Tips to Help Your Students Cope Better With ICTs

Published February 9, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Murielle Cayouette Teacher, Collège O'Sullivan de Québec

Written from the standpoint of a teacher, the "5 Tips" series is intended to be a helpful resource for teachers who are integrating technology into their everyday practice. In college teaching, heterogeneous classes where students and diverse personalities converge are the norm. This reality is also evident when observing the different ways that they react to technology. In this article, I identify 5 situations in which students might have more difficulty when faced with technology. I also suggest a few options on how to provide them with assistance.

Articles

ICT in Review – Papers from the 2013 AQPC Symposium

Published September 1, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Fanny Kingsbury Director General, AQPC

Fanny Kingsbury, the director-general of the AQPC (Association québécoise de pédagogie collégiale) reviews various papers related to information technology that were presented at the association's 2013 symposium. If you missed a presentation or you want to learn more about certain themes, a number of presenters have deposited related documentation on the AQPC site.

Articles
ICT Profile

Crowd Sourcing Review Questions with PeerWise

Published September 19, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

The thought of using student-generated content in your teaching may at first seem absurd. However, nowadays the social norm in terms of learning is changing with Web 2.0 websites and applications that are constructed of user-generated rather than expert-generated content. The huge repositories of videos (You Tube), images (Instagram), social profiles (Facebook) all of which have been contributed by other users are now being used for learning. Students are becoming more and more familiar with the value of user-generated content.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Learning Technology Advisor, Collège Sainte-Anne
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Real Life Stories

Published October 13, 2017

The Low-Tech Active Learning Classroom at Cégep de Sept-Îles

Sharon Coyle Teacher, Cégep de Sept-Îles

The term active learning classroom usually evokes images of a sleek space packed with all of the latest technological bells and whistles. Not so at Cégep de Sept-Îles. To fit our teaching and learning needs and goals, we consciously opted for a classroom where inter-activity – not technology – plays a central role. This being 2017, of course it doesn’t mean we relegated electronic devices altogether. Here’s the story that explains the “how” and “why” of our low-tech active learning classroom.

Multidisciplinary

Page 1 of 30