Profweb

Search results

Publications in Profweb (220)

Articles

Getting Ready for the Return: Some Articles to Review

Published August 19, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb

Whether you are still on vacation or back to work, you probably weren’t saved from the numerous advertisements announcing the imminent return to the classroom which began cropping up in mid-July. I think that it is better to get back in the beat slowly, which is why I thought you might want to take a look at some of our publications from June 2016 that featured our favourite articles and end of year events. Sometimes forgotten due to the frenetic pace of vacation (I won’t hold it against you!), these articles surely deserve a second chance.

Real Life Stories

Using Factile to Make Engaging Review Sessions

Published April 16, 2018  |  English (Second Language)

Simon Côté-Massicotte Editor, Profweb

Keeping students focused and motivated is a constant challenge for teachers, especially in classes where a lot of the material has to be learnt by heart. An effective way to address that issue is to turn review sessions into games: the informal context allows students to relax and the friendly competition keeps them motivated. The web-based application, Factile, which I have used in my English for Adventure Tourism class, allows you to turn your classroom into the set of Jeopardy and make your review sessions efficient and entertaining.

Articles

ICT in Review – Papers from the 2013 AQPC Symposium

Published September 1, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Fanny Kingsbury Director General, AQPC

Fanny Kingsbury, the director-general of the AQPC (Association québécoise de pédagogie collégiale) reviews various papers related to information technology that were presented at the association's 2013 symposium. If you missed a presentation or you want to learn more about certain themes, a number of presenters have deposited related documentation on the AQPC site.

Articles
ICT Profile

Crowd Sourcing Review Questions with PeerWise

Published September 19, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

The thought of using student-generated content in your teaching may at first seem absurd. However, nowadays the social norm in terms of learning is changing with Web 2.0 websites and applications that are constructed of user-generated rather than expert-generated content. The huge repositories of videos (You Tube), images (Instagram), social profiles (Facebook) all of which have been contributed by other users are now being used for learning. Students are becoming more and more familiar with the value of user-generated content.

Real Life Stories

Producing Videos with Tablets to Facilitate Student Review

Published April 9, 2018  |  Chemistry

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb
Shazia Syed Teacher, Heritage College

Since Chemistry can be a challenging subject for students, I am always looking for creative ways to engage the students and to more effectively share the subject matter. With the realization that students often turn to online videos as a learning resource, I decided to create my own. In doing so, I could provide the students with videos that would be specific to their learning needs. After researching a few solutions, I began using an app on my tablet called ShowMe to produce summary videos for my students.

Articles

Media Literacy: Challenges and Issues for 21st Century Schools

Published November 24, 2015  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb

On October 23, 2015, I attended a Web-based colloquium entitled Éduquer aux médias: une priorité collective (Media Literacy: A Collective Priority). Presented by the TELUQ and the Conseil de presse du Québec, it had been 10 years since the last event on media literacy took place in Montreal. This initiative was praised by speakers and attendees alike, who enthusiastically lobbied for another edition to follow this year’s event.

Featured Reports

Wolfram|Alpha, the Semantic Web at its best

Published October 14, 2012  |  Multidisciplinary

Jean-Luc Trussart Educational Advisor, Cégep régional de Lanaudière - L'Assomption

Jean-Luc Trussart, technical academic advisor at Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L’Assomption, explores the pedagogical potential and impact of the Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine and the semantic Web. He reviews the rise of the Internet and its impact on teaching and learning by giving examples of pedagogical applications of the Wolfram|Alpha engine, while identifying the issues involved in the classroom integration of this toolkit.

Articles

Profweb's Columns - At Your Service

Published August 25, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Séverine Parent Educational Advisor, Cégep Limoilou

Profweb's coordinator, Séverine Parent, is beginning the 2013-2014 academic year with a review of Profweb's columns marking the events of last year. She also touches upon what Profweb's readers can expect in the year to come.

Articles

Quebec’s Suffix on the Internet and the Cégeps

Published September 9, 2014  |  Multidisciplinary

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

According to a Radio Canada press release, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) authorized the creation of a .quebec suffix in On September 2, 2014, preregistration began for businesses and organizations to reserve their own names o domain. On November 13, registration is public and open to all. According to The Globe and Mail, Quebec is currently the only geographical location within Canada to enjoy this distinct status.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Learning Technology Advisor, Collège Sainte-Anne
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Real Life Stories

Published December 14, 2015

Music, eBooks and Notes at the Tip of Your Fingers!

Ian Murphy Teacher, Cégep de Drummondville

I’ve always been interested in technological advances, especially its contribution towards supporting learning. This interest has influenced my teaching style and my pedagogical approach with students, and has allowed me to find digital solutions to various problems that crop up in the music program.

Music

Page 1 of 23