Profweb

Search results

1040 search results for 'First semester' 'Sommative Evaluation' 'Video' 'Press reviews' 'Feedback' 'Digital Evaluation' : Publications in Profweb (937) | Resources in ICT Profile (48) | Skills in ICT Profile (36) | Pages in ICT Profile (18) | FAQ in ICT Profile (1)

Publications in Profweb (937)

Featured Reports

Correction, Feedback and Evaluation: Inspiring Practices and AddICTive Tools

Published April 24, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Our report explores the potential of the tools and technologies available to support learning evaluation and it focuses on methods college teachers have tested. It also invites readers to consider a few essential factors in the choice of strategies and tools, to review interesting ideas such as feedback and formative evaluation and to reflect on the student’s role in the evaluation and learning process. Lots of resources are suggested to make it easier to implement the host of options featured here.

Articles

AddICTive Tools for Evaluation: Collaborative and Self-Evaluation

Published January 23, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Do red pens give you a headache? Does correcting formative tests for acquired knowledge make you dizzy? Are you looking for ways to save time…or trees? Are you looking for change? In this sixth part of our series of articles that accompany our In-depth Report on Evaluation and Digital Feedback, we present digital tools for collaborative and self-evaluation.

Articles

AddICTive Tools for Evaluation: Digital Marking and Annotation

Published January 23, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Do red pens give you a headache? Are you looking for ways to save time…or trees? Do you want to be more efficient? Are you looking for change? In this first part of our series of articles that accompany our In-depth Report on Evaluation and Digital Feedback, we present digital tools for marking and annotation.

Articles

Classkick — Real-time formative evaluation and feedback

Published April 1, 2019  |  Multidisciplinary

Catherine Rhéaume Editor, Profweb

Classkick is an online evaluation tool that allows you to ask questions to your students and to see their individual answers in real time on your screen. As a bonus, if you allow them, your students can help their peers by commenting on their answers. Do you want to know more?

Articles

AddICTive Tools for Evaluation: Audio and Video Feedback

Published January 23, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Do red pens give you a headache? Does correcting formative tests for acquired knowledge make you dizzy? Are you looking for ways to save time…or trees? Are you looking for change? In this third part of our series of articles that accompany our In-depth Report on Evaluation and Digital Feedback, we present digital tools for providing audio and video feedback.

Articles

AddICTive Tools for Evaluation: Online Quizzes

Published January 23, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Do red pens give you a headache? Does correcting formative tests for acquired knowledge make you dizzy? Are you looking for ways to save time…or trees? Are you looking for change? In this fourth part of our series of articles that accompany our In-depth Report on Evaluation and Digital Feedback, we present digital tools for online quizzes.

Articles

AddICTive Tools for Evaluation: Clickers

Published January 23, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Huguette Dupont Educational Advisor, Cégep de Granby

Do red pens give you a headache? Does correcting formative tests for acquired knowledge make you dizzy? Are you looking for ways to save time…or trees? Are you looking for change? In this fifth part of our series of articles that accompany our In-depth Report on Evaluation and Digital Feedback, we present clickers and other instant response tools.

Articles

Automatic Essay Evaluation with the Virtual Writing Tutor

Published January 14, 2020  |  English (Second Language)

Nicholas Walker Teacher, Collège Ahuntsic
Frank Bonkowski, PhD. Teacher, Cégep de Saint-Laurent

It’s the week before the beginning of the semester and you are finalizing your course plan. How many writing assignments will you assign this semester? Will you assign one midterm essay and one final essay like your colleagues, or will you assign more?

Real Life Stories

Producing Videos with Tablets to Facilitate Student Review

Published April 9, 2018  |  Chemistry

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb
Shazia Syed Teacher, Heritage College

Since Chemistry can be a challenging subject for students, I am always looking for creative ways to engage the students and to more effectively share the subject matter. With the realization that students often turn to online videos as a learning resource, I decided to create my own. In doing so, I could provide the students with videos that would be specific to their learning needs. After researching a few solutions, I began using an app on my tablet called ShowMe to produce summary videos for my students.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Articles

Published January 18, 2018

3 Platforms to Create Video-Based Tasks that Actively Engage Students

Andy Van Drom Editor, Profweb

In 2018, cell phones, tablets and computers combined with free applications or software give us the ability to create high quality video and broadcast it within moments. The internet gives us access to vast free video resources. Yet in spite of these technological innovations, students still consume digital media mostly passively in classroom settings. Three free online platforms allow you to create different types of video-based tasks that engage your students more actively.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Learning Technology Advisor, Collège Sainte-Anne
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Page 1 of 104