Profweb

Search results

1128 search results for 'Active Learning' 'Collaboration' 'Work Methodology Development' 'Press reviews' 'Blended learning' : Publications in Profweb (1009) | Skills in ICT Profile (53) | Resources in ICT Profile (42) | Pages in ICT Profile (21) | FAQ in ICT Profile (3)

Publications in Profweb (1009)

Featured Reports

Active Learning

Published September 3, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Jean Desjardins Educational Advisor, Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Articles

Collaboration Fosters Active Learning

Published December 5, 2012  | 

Eric Lozowy Faculty Dean - Science and General Studies, Vanier College

The new active learning classroom represents for Eric Lozowy what the Quebec College Network can be at its best. It is about innovation and partnerships. It is also about collaboration and student centeredness. In other words, it is about a community of teachers, professionals and managers getting together and exchanging ideas and dreams to better serve the needs of students.

Featured Reports

Cloud-based Blended Synchronous / Asynchronous Shared Documents

Published October 2, 2011  |  Multidisciplinary

János Varga Teacher, Cégep John Abbott College

János Varga explains how cloud-based blended synchronous/asynchronous shared documents promote collaboration and active learning among students.

Real Life Stories

Learning About Microbes in an Active Learning Classroom

Published May 19, 2013  |  Nursing

Priscila Castillo-Ruiz Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

I have been working with Joan Kearvell and Isabelle Menard to develop a series of activities that mimic microbial-related infections, so that nursing students get to apply their conceptual knowledge to real life situations. Although two of us teach at Champlain College’s Saint Lambert campus and the third at the Lennoxville campus, we have been working together on a SALTISE mini-grant.

Articles

Problem-Based Learning Combined with Active Learning in Physics

Published November 28, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Samuel Turcotte Intern in Masters Educational Technology, Profweb

Friday September 30, 2016, I had the opportunity to attend a physics course based on Problem-Based Learning (PBL) in a multifunctional classroom. I was also able to speak with Stéphan Gaumont-Guay, a teacher at Cégep Limoilou who has been using this approach since 2004. Our meeting place was in a 21st century classroom at the Charlesbourg Campus.

Articles

The Importance of Learning Communities and Collaboration for Mylène Saucier: an AQPC Honourable Mention Laureate

Published October 25, 2016  |  Rehabilitation Technology

Angie Stevens Editor, Profweb

Receiving the 2016 AQPC Honourable Mention for Dawson College is just one of the many accomplishments for this young and inspirational teacher. Mylène Saucier is a strong advocate of collaboration. Her view of student success includes collaboration between students, among teachers, as well as the support services and personnel throughout the college. Having been the leader in the design and implementation of the new Physiotherapy Technology Program at Dawson College, she has set the tone for this department; making it one of inclusion, teamwork, professional development, and the use of ICTs to enhance the pedagogical approach of learning.

Real Life Stories

Blended Learning with Microsoft Office Mix for PowerPoint

Published September 5, 2017  |  Business Administration

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb
Julie Wong Teacher, Dawson College

Office Mix is a simple free screen recording add-in from Microsoft that integrates directly into PowerPoint. I discovered the tool at a teachers’ CAAA conference in Newfoundland over the summer of 2016. I was excited to try it when I returned to Dawson in the fall. Combined with a flipped classroom pedagogy that includes problem-based learning, integrating this tool into my workflow allowed me to produce learning material that dramatically improved the success rates of my students.

Real Life Stories

Active Learning Classrooms in Service of French Lit

Published September 22, 2015  |  French (Language and Literature)

Étienne Bourdages Teacher, Collège Ahuntsic

Just prior to the student strike in 2012, the administration at our college presented an active learning classroom implementation project codenamed CLAAC (for Classe d’apprentissage actif). This initiative was part of a vast reasearch project that brought a few colleges from Quebec together with the Université de Montréal. I’ve been teaching French literature for about 8 years and was interested in experimenting with some new ways of presenting my class. I was already interested in integrating ICTs into my teaching, but I was more or less traditional in my approach. So when the opportunity arose, I jumped at the chance to get involved.

Articles

Four Sites to Explore Digital Learning Resources for Use in Blended Delivery

Published May 16, 2019  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

With the advent of the Digital Action Plan for Education in Quebec and the increased interest in changing up the delivery of course material, many teachers are wondering how they might get started with blended learning. For those who want to offer part of their theory at a distance while devoting in-class time to alternative teaching strategies, there are a few sites that offer pre-designed Digital Learning Resources (DLRs) that you might want explore for inspiration.

Articles

Beginning a Blended Learning Approach with EDUQ.info and Ceres

Published September 26, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

With all the buzz around developing a digital strategy for education in Quebec’s college network, this year many teachers will be looking into how a blended learning approach might contribute to developing their students’ competencies.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Articles

Published January 18, 2018

3 Platforms to Create Video-Based Tasks that Actively Engage Students

Andy Van Drom Editor, Profweb

In 2018, cell phones, tablets and computers combined with free applications or software give us the ability to create high quality video and broadcast it within moments. The internet gives us access to vast free video resources. Yet in spite of these technological innovations, students still consume digital media mostly passively in classroom settings. Three free online platforms allow you to create different types of video-based tasks that engage your students more actively.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Educational Advisor, Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Page 1 of 113