Profweb

Search results

700 search results for 'Creation' 'Collaboration' 'Communication' 'Press reviews' : Publications in Profweb (666) | Skills in ICT Profile (14) | Resources in ICT Profile (10) | Pages in ICT Profile (10)

Publications in Profweb (666)

Articles

Humanities and IT – Tips for Successful Integration

Published September 21, 2014  |  Humanities

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

This year Profweb will publish a series of discipline-specific articles on the tools and ICT strategies that you can easily incorporate into YOUR teaching. Not only will each article provide an overview of inspiring material available in Profweb, but these summaries will help you have a clear and accurate picture of available resources elsewhere in the network and beyond.

Articles

Tour d’Horizon: Quebec Colleges and the 2017 Horizon Report on Ed Tech

Published March 6, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

The New Media Consortium’s annual Higher Education Edition of the Horizon Report is out! Each year the report provides us with an opportunity as educators to stop, take stock and reflect on our use of technology in the classroom. An international panel of 78 experts contributed to the advancement of the discussion that fed into this year’s report, whose findings will likely resonate with many stakeholders from Quebec’s college network.

Articles

Mobility, Accessibility, Data and Open Futures: MoodleMoot Canada 2018 Highlights

Published March 9, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

In late February 2018, Moodle users, developers, administrators and enthusiasts made the pilgrimage to Toronto’s York University for the 2018 edition of MoodleMoot Canada. Among the attendees were 2 members of the Quebec college network, François Lizotte (DECclic) and Rafael Scapin (Dawson College) who agreed to share some of their favourite moments from the conference.

Articles

Accessibility Evolves: Dawson College’s Student Inclusion Solution Assistive Technology Lab

Published December 6, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Ryan W. Moon Editor, Profweb

A number of my discussions with educators across the college network in 2018 have revolved around the adoption of inclusive pedagogy (IP), Universal Design for Learning (UDL) and Assistive Technology (AT). I recently learned that Dawson College has an AT space where students with varying needs can receive the tailored support of an adapted services counsellor. My curiosity about this unique space and its mission led me to contact the college’s counsellor Rosie Arcuri as well as to speak with her predecessor Roch Ducharme, who was recently appointed the Director of CRISPESH (Centre de recherche pour l’inclusion des personnes en situation de handicap).

Real Life Stories

The Different Facets of Distance Education – The Virtual Hybrid Class in Tourism Management

Published October 28, 2016  |  Tourism

Bernard Gagnon Educational Advisor, Cégep de Saint-Félicien
Julie Boulianne Teacher, Cégep de Saint-Félicien

Since the fall 2014, the Cégep de Saint-Félicien has offered distance courses in a virtual hybrid class in its Tourism Management program. It is a regional exclusivity, as our CEGEP is the only college institution in Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean that offers the program.

Real Life Stories

Renewing the Quantitative Methods Course by Anchoring it in Real Life

Published March 18, 2019  |  Mathematics

Nadia Laflamme Teacher, Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Since 2013, gradually, my colleagues Annie Turcotte and Steve Fortin, and I have reviewed in depth the way that we were giving the Quantitative Methods course. We now give the class in an ALC (active learning classroom), and engage in activities based on problem situations anchored in real life. For one activity, we collaborate with local community organizations: the students utilise their competencies to respond to the needs of those organizations.

Articles

Generation Mobile: Using Technology to Improve Student Engagement

Published January 26, 2018  |  Multidisciplinary

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

I joined a webcast on the role of technology in improving generation-Z students’ experience and retention. The directors of 3 American higher education institutions presented their insight into how to reach out to this generation in more effective ways. Dr. Carney Strange (Professor Emeritus, Bowling Green State University) moderated the webcast that was presented on June 13, 2017. In this free webinar entitled “Generation Mobile : Using Technology to Improve Student Engagement” (registration required), you can hear how the institutions used an app to better connect their students to the activities and services on campus. OOHLALA, the app developer created a college branded app and customized the app to fit each college’s needs.

Articles

Help! I Have 150 Messages in My Inbox This Week!

Published August 14, 2015  |  Multidisciplinary

Chantal Desrosiers Techno-pedagogical Advisor, MEES

Many teachers have noticed an important change in their task in the last few years. One of these changes stems from new tools such as the Moodle and LEA platforms and messaging systems. Is it possible to be efficient and effective while working with these tools? This article provides some tips to use these technologies to their full potential.

Real Life Stories

Teaching Tourism… From Japan!

Published January 18, 2016  |  Tourism

Ariane Arpin-Delorme Teacher, Collège LaSalle

In May 2015, Collège LaSalle’s ICT committee sent out a call for proposals to all teachers, inviting anyone interested in integrating technology into their teaching practice to submit a project proposal. At that point, I had just been invited to an Asian tourism trade show and to a familiarization tour of Tokyo, scheduled to take place in the fall of 2015. I applied for a grant and was informed in August that my project had been chosen. This meant I was going to be able to teach a blended course to my “Cultural and Tourist Attractions of Asia and the South Pacific” students, starting in a regular classroom. Then, from September 20th to October 5th, 2015, my classes would be live from Japan!

Articles

10 top publications to wrap up the fall term

Published December 8, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb
Andy Van Drom Editor, Profweb

With December come many festive traditions: public markets come alive, homes light up and kitchens smell of sweet and savory pies. Profweb elves complete this festive series and present you their traditional list of the 10 most consulted publications from August 1 to December 1, 2017. And because we’re feeling festive, we’ve compiled a list of the most popular French publications, too!

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Learning Technology Advisor, Collège Sainte-Anne
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Real Life Stories

Published November 30, 2014

An Online Course to Pass the OQLF French Exam

Chantale Giguère Teacher, Dawson College

Two Dawson French teachers (Chantale Giguère and Laurent Duval) have developed a new online course called A Tutorial for the OQLF French Exam - Health Sector Students and Professionals. This 45-hour fully online course specifically designed for health sector is now offered by Dawson’s Center of Training and Development (CTD). The students are pharmacists, nurses, doctors, x-ray technicians or students in the health sector who want to improve their French competencies to work in the Quebec health system.

French (Second Language)

Page 66 of 70