Profweb

Search results

662 search results for 'Creation' 'Collaboration' 'Communication' 'Press reviews' : Publications in Profweb (628) | Skills in ICT Profile (14) | Resources in ICT Profile (10) | Pages in ICT Profile (10)

Publications in Profweb (628)

Articles

Getting Ready for the Return: Some Articles to Review

Published August 19, 2016  |  Multidisciplinary

Andréanne Turgeon Editor, Profweb

Whether you are still on vacation or back to work, you probably weren’t saved from the numerous advertisements announcing the imminent return to the classroom which began cropping up in mid-July. I think that it is better to get back in the beat slowly, which is why I thought you might want to take a look at some of our publications from June 2016 that featured our favourite articles and end of year events. Sometimes forgotten due to the frenetic pace of vacation (I won’t hold it against you!), these articles surely deserve a second chance.

Articles

The Importance of Learning Communities and Collaboration for Mylène Saucier: an AQPC Honourable Mention Laureate

Published October 25, 2016  |  Rehabilitation Technology

Angie Stevens Editor, Profweb

Receiving the 2016 AQPC Honourable Mention for Dawson College is just one of the many accomplishments for this young and inspirational teacher. Mylène Saucier is a strong advocate of collaboration. Her view of student success includes collaboration between students, among teachers, as well as the support services and personnel throughout the college. Having been the leader in the design and implementation of the new Physiotherapy Technology Program at Dawson College, she has set the tone for this department; making it one of inclusion, teamwork, professional development, and the use of ICTs to enhance the pedagogical approach of learning.

Featured Reports

Wolfram|Alpha, the Semantic Web at its best

Published October 14, 2012  |  Multidisciplinary

Jean-Luc Trussart Educational Advisor, Cégep régional de Lanaudière - L'Assomption

Jean-Luc Trussart, technical academic advisor at Cégep régional de Lanaudière à L’Assomption, explores the pedagogical potential and impact of the Wolfram|Alpha computational knowledge engine and the semantic Web. He reviews the rise of the Internet and its impact on teaching and learning by giving examples of pedagogical applications of the Wolfram|Alpha engine, while identifying the issues involved in the classroom integration of this toolkit.

Articles

APOP e-Conference – A First! A meeting in synchronous cyber collaboration mode

Published September 4, 2006  | 

APOP Management team

APOP (Association for the Educational application of computer technology at the post-secondary level) extends an invitation to you to participate to its first ever annual e-Conference in synchronous cyber collaboration mode, January 10 and 11, 2007. This innovative event, which underlines 25 years of services at the APOP, aims to bring together members of the college and wider post-secondary communities to share their perspectives, expertise and approaches on the following theme: « Integrating IT into Academic Practices: Paths to explore…»

Featured Reports

Cloud-based Blended Synchronous / Asynchronous Shared Documents

Published October 2, 2011  |  Multidisciplinary

János Varga Teacher, Cégep John Abbott College

János Varga explains how cloud-based blended synchronous/asynchronous shared documents promote collaboration and active learning among students.

Articles

Quebec’s Suffix on the Internet and the Cégeps

Published September 9, 2014  |  Multidisciplinary

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

According to a Radio Canada press release, the Internet Corporation for Assigned Names and Numbers (ICANN) authorized the creation of a .quebec suffix in On September 2, 2014, preregistration began for businesses and organizations to reserve their own names o domain. On November 13, registration is public and open to all. According to The Globe and Mail, Quebec is currently the only geographical location within Canada to enjoy this distinct status.

Real Life Stories

Using Factile to Make Engaging Review Sessions

Published April 16, 2018  |  English (Second Language)

Simon Côté-Massicotte Editor, Profweb

Keeping students focused and motivated is a constant challenge for teachers, especially in classes where a lot of the material has to be learnt by heart. An effective way to address that issue is to turn review sessions into games: the informal context allows students to relax and the friendly competition keeps them motivated. The web-based application, Factile, which I have used in my English for Adventure Tourism class, allows you to turn your classroom into the set of Jeopardy and make your review sessions efficient and entertaining.

Real Life Stories
ICT Profile

Using Google Docs to Teach Essay Writing and Create an Environment for Peer Learning

Published April 27, 2016  |  English (Second Language)

Johanne Morin Teacher, Cégep Limoilou

The collaboration possibilities provided by Google Docs have allowed me to take teaching essay writing to both a higher and more effective level. Students advance through the notions of essay writing, working continuously on improving the same document throughout the semester, to finish with a polished essay. Peer learning with Google Docs creates an atmosphere of collaboration and makes it easier for me and the students to see the progress being made as well as the competencies being acquired.

Articles

Five Fruitful Years of Collaboration

Published September 7, 2010  |  Multidisciplinary

Profweb Editorial team, Profweb

As we enter our 6th year, the Profweb Team would like to take this opportunity to highlight the wealth of innovative information technology data in our pages.

Real Life Stories

Virtual Language Exchanges: Making Connections with Mixxer

Published May 1, 2017  |  English (Second Language)

Lisa Deguire Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière

For the past few years I have been experimenting with online collaboration with other teachers in the college network as part of my English as a Second Language courses. Last year, we were fortunate to have obtained a grant from the Entente Québec-Canada that permitted myself and some colleagues to familiarize ourselves with synchronous and asynchronous communication pedagogy, which became the subject of a Real Life Story on Profweb. Although I learned a lot through this experience, I felt that we could still make some gains in the efficiency of my use of our active learning lab and that we had yet to exploit all the possibilities these labs and Google tools could offer to both teachers and learners.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Learning Technology Advisor, Collège Sainte-Anne
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Real Life Stories

Published November 30, 2017

Google Classroom to Support Sustainable Learning in the Dental Prosthesis Program

Julie Jacob Teacher, Cégep Édouard-Montpetit

I teach in the Dental Prosthesis Program. During the winter session, I give the course Conception et confection de pièces squelettiques II to students in their 4th semester in the program. This course allows them to finish acquiring the skills essential for them to succeed the integration activity. However, the students do not have the opportunity to practice these skills between their 4th and 6th semester of studies. This means that 3rd year students sometimes have difficulty finding theoretical or practical notions from the year before. For this reason, I set out to find both, a way to ensure the safekeeping of course contents and a means of making the content easily accessible to the students.

Dental Technology

Page 2 of 67