Profweb

Search results

67 search results for 'Community of Learners' 'Collaboration' 'Communication' 'Press reviews' 'Feedback' > English (Second Language) (67) : Publications in Profweb (67)

Publications in Profweb (67)

Real Life Stories

To Learn Through Teaching

Published November 14, 2010  |  English (Second Language)

Lisa Deguire Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière

As an ESL (English as a Second Language) teacher, Lisa Deguire is always looking for an activity that could be designed to motivate and challenge students in the advanced English level IV courses where the goal is to develop job specific language skills for students in varied programs who often feel they have little to learn in ESL. Her Multimedia Writing Project is encouraging students to link their knowledge and skills with available resources in their respective programs and the college to learn through teaching.

Articles

Afternoon Tea with Seniors: A Model of Community Engagement Teaching

Published February 7, 2019  |  English (Second Language)

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

This community engaged teaching activity, funded by the Entente Canada-Québec relative à l’enseignement dans la langue de la minorité et à l’enseignement des langues secondes provided students learning English as a second language (ESL) the opportunity to interact with native speakers while integrating meaningful community service and the use of technology to collaborate at a distance. Students and teachers from 4 colleges collaborated around shared goals. The teachers developed projects that would allow the students to apply course content to real world contexts in their community.

Real Life Stories

Keyboard shortcuts to speed up formative feedback

Published November 28, 2017  |  English (Second Language)

Netta Gorman Teacher, Cégep de l'Abitibi-Témiscamingue

Have you ever had a sore hand after writing almost identical comments on the copies of all your students, again and again? Did you know that when correcting digital documents, you can avoid this by setting up automatic substitution codes? In addition, by creating keyboard shortcuts, you can give students detailed feedback. I do it in Google Docs, but it's possible with other word processing tools!

Real Life Stories

Cross-Campus Collaborations Part 2

Published May 23, 2016  |  English (Second Language)

Lisa Deguire Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière
Margaret McCall Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière

As you may recall, we penned an article which appeared on Profweb in March 2016 entitled Virtual Team Teaching is Gaining Ground in the Regions. This article described the Entente Canada-Québec supported cross-campus collaboration project involving CEGEPs from Jonquière, Alma and Abitibi-Témiscamingue. The project aimed to build a virtual regional team teaching network and to initiate our students to this approach through the use of multi-site collaborative activities. As promised in our previous article, we are now providing an update on the project as the semester comes to a close.

Articles

Pedagogical Implications of Online Readership

Published March 23, 2015  |  English (Second Language)

Alexandre Enkerli Educational Advisor, Vitrine technologie-éducation

Now that handwriting is on the way out (at least in Finnish schools), learners are likely to use some form of computer technology in most writing contexts. We may take computer-assisted writing for granted, but lots of things change when we bring them to the digital domain. Like most other human activities, the scriptorial domain is shifting.

Articles

A World Wide Web: Engaging Learners Online

Published May 20, 2019  |  English (Second Language)

Linda Manimtim, M.Ed., Red River College, Winnipeg MB and EAL Specialist, PEG Canada

In this digital age, information is available to our students at the click of a Google search. They have access to amazing tools as well as unreliable information at the touch of a finger. As instructors, we have the opportunity to help guide this rushing river of data to benefit our students and ourselves. They’re online at home, on the bus, while they’re eating, while they watch TV, while they socialize, and sometimes while they are in class. So, why not take advantage of this almost natural proclivity, and make use of it for educational purposes?

Real Life Stories

Virtual Language Exchanges: Making Connections with Mixxer

Published May 1, 2017  |  English (Second Language)

Lisa Deguire Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière

For the past few years I have been experimenting with online collaboration with other teachers in the college network as part of my English as a Second Language courses. Last year, we were fortunate to have obtained a grant from the Entente Québec-Canada that permitted myself and some colleagues to familiarize ourselves with synchronous and asynchronous communication pedagogy, which became the subject of a Real Life Story on Profweb. Although I learned a lot through this experience, I felt that we could still make some gains in the efficiency of my use of our active learning lab and that we had yet to exploit all the possibilities these labs and Google tools could offer to both teachers and learners.

Real Life Stories

Using Factile to Make Engaging Review Sessions

Published April 16, 2018  |  English (Second Language)

Simon Côté-Massicotte Editor, Profweb

Keeping students focused and motivated is a constant challenge for teachers, especially in classes where a lot of the material has to be learnt by heart. An effective way to address that issue is to turn review sessions into games: the informal context allows students to relax and the friendly competition keeps them motivated. The web-based application, Factile, which I have used in my English for Adventure Tourism class, allows you to turn your classroom into the set of Jeopardy and make your review sessions efficient and entertaining.

Real Life Stories
ICT Profile

Using Google Docs to Teach Essay Writing and Create an Environment for Peer Learning

Published April 27, 2016  |  English (Second Language)

Johanne Morin Teacher, Cégep Limoilou

The collaboration possibilities provided by Google Docs have allowed me to take teaching essay writing to both a higher and more effective level. Students advance through the notions of essay writing, working continuously on improving the same document throughout the semester, to finish with a polished essay. Peer learning with Google Docs creates an atmosphere of collaboration and makes it easier for me and the students to see the progress being made as well as the competencies being acquired.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published April 27, 2016

Using Google Docs to Teach Essay Writing and Create an Environment for Peer Learning

Johanne Morin Teacher, Cégep Limoilou

The collaboration possibilities provided by Google Docs have allowed me to take teaching essay writing to both a higher and more effective level. Students advance through the notions of essay writing, working continuously on improving the same document throughout the semester, to finish with a polished essay. Peer learning with Google Docs creates an atmosphere of collaboration and makes it easier for me and the students to see the progress being made as well as the competencies being acquired.

English (Second Language)

Real Life Stories

Published February 1, 2015

Mixing Business with Pleasure: Using Socrative on Smartphones in Class!

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

Most students have smartphones. I didn’t used to enjoy them fooling around with these gadgets in class, whether they were browsing through their social media updates or texting. Since I don’t like policing my class either, I integrated the use of cell phones into my class. I made them a tool for learning!

English (Second Language)

Real Life Stories

Published March 8, 2016

Virtual Team Teaching is Gaining Ground in the Regions

Lisa Deguire Teacher, Cégep de Jonquière

The Saguenay-Lac-Saint-Jean region of Quebec is a bastion of the French language where students have few authentic opportunities to engage in English conversation with Anglophones or English-speaking Allophones. This can be particularly problematic for English as a Second Language teachers. Thanks to a grant from the Entente Canada-Québec and the assistance of Vanier College, our project was able to find an innovative solution that provided students with the next best thing to an authentic English environment.

English (Second Language)

Page 1 of 7