Profweb

Search results

16 search results for 'Distance Learning' 'Communication' 'Social Medias' 'Press reviews' > Mathematics (16) : Publications in Profweb (16)

Publications in Profweb (16)

Real Life Stories

Renewing the Quantitative Methods Course by Anchoring it in Real Life

Published March 18, 2019  |  Mathematics

Nadia Laflamme Teacher, Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Since 2013, gradually, my colleagues Annie Turcotte and Steve Fortin, and I have reviewed in depth the way that we were giving the Quantitative Methods course. We now give the class in an ALC (active learning classroom), and engage in activities based on problem situations anchored in real life. For one activity, we collaborate with local community organizations: the students utilise their competencies to respond to the needs of those organizations.

Articles

Using Google as a Graphing Calculator

Published February 27, 2018  |  Mathematics

Catherine Rhéaume Editor, Profweb

Did you know there is a graphing calculator hiding inside the Google search engine? What’s more, Google can also do calculations from known physical quantities without having to enter their numeric values. And Google converts units as needed!

Real Life Stories

Mathematics and Programming in the Cloud with CoCalc

Published June 13, 2017  |  Mathematics

Gabriel Indurskis Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

Cloud computing is an increasingly important part of the college experience in Quebec. With more and more educational establishments using Google Tools, Office 365 and Moodle, there is less and less of an emphasis on having computers with a laundry list of applications installed. When you can fire up a web browser and have access to a wide range of tools, it is a game-changer. The field of mathematics is also well-entrenched within this computing trend, with the appearance of cloud-based innovations in the past couple of years, not the least of which is a powerful platform for cloud computing known as SageMathCloud, which has recently been rebranded as CoCalc. Since this name change is very recent, most of the information and tutorials on the internet still make reference to the old name, and this article will use both names interchangeably.

Real Life Stories

“Video Selfies” in Class

Published October 27, 2015  |  Mathematics

Charles Laporte Teacher, Collège LaSalle

The idea to suggest to my students that they use their mobile device to make videos came to me while I was presenting the solution to a problem in my Linear Algebra and Vector Geometry class. I wanted to let the students put mathematics operations into their own words, so that they could verbalize what they were thinking and explain the solution while they were doing it. Doing this with a paper-based assignment seemed a bit too laborious. Instead, why not try to use a selfie video (filming themselves)? This also allowed me to touch on one of the higher levels of competency in Bloom’s Taxonomy (we moved from working on matrices to explaining and even analysing these operations while in the process of resolving them).

Digital Tools

GeoGebra: What’s That?

Published February 24, 2017  |  Mathematics

Charles Laporte Teacher, Collège LaSalle

GeoGebra is a free software tool that was specifically designed for teaching and learning mathematics. GeoGebra works equally well on computers, tablets and smartphones. GeoGebra is also accessible online without the need to download the software.

Real Life Stories

Managing Student Questions with the Piazza Q&A Platform

Published March 12, 2019  |  Mathematics

Gabriel Indurskis Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

As a busy teacher, I am always on the lookout for technologies that help me to most efficiently use my time. For the last 2 years I have adopted the Piazza.com Q&A platform to help me manage material-related student questions in all my CEGEP mathematics courses (Calculus, Linear Algebra, Statistics, etc.), rather than using e-mail or MIO. It helps me to avoid answering the same question over and over and empowers students to answer questions among themselves.

Articles

DawsonITE for the Week of December 8

Published December 7, 2014  |  Mathematics

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

This week, DawsonITE resources seek to bridge the gap between reality and the virtual world. Often, those resources seem to be teachers. The guide on the side really turns out to be more central than the name would suggest!

Real Life Stories

Video Supported Mathematics for Commerce

Published August 28, 2011  |  Mathematics

Matthew Marchant Teacher, Dawson College

Matthew Marchant observed many students struggling to follow explanations from beginning to end. In response to this, he created videos to present in his Calculus 2 course for Commerce. The story explains how he made them and how he used them in his class.

Articles

Contributions from Mathematics 201

Published October 12, 2014  |  Mathematics

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

Second in our discipline-specific articles on resources available on Profweb is Mathematics - Discipline 201. Profweb is here to help you reevaluate your pedagogy in the light of information technology integration (IT). For the Mathematics teacher a number of very discipline-specific questions arise.

Real Life Stories

Online, Interactive Math Homework!

Published March 8, 2009  |  Mathematics

Alice McLeod Teacher, Cégep John Abbott College

Alice McLeod met with Norm Spatz of the Profweb Animaweb Team to talk about her use of WeBWorK. This following account of that meeting provides information on the use of this exciting resource for Mathematics.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published March 18, 2019

Renewing the Quantitative Methods Course by Anchoring it in Real Life

Nadia Laflamme Teacher, Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Since 2013, gradually, my colleagues Annie Turcotte and Steve Fortin, and I have reviewed in depth the way that we were giving the Quantitative Methods course. We now give the class in an ALC (active learning classroom), and engage in activities based on problem situations anchored in real life. For one activity, we collaborate with local community organizations: the students utilise their competencies to respond to the needs of those organizations.

Mathematics

Articles

Published February 27, 2018

Using Google as a Graphing Calculator

Catherine Rhéaume Editor, Profweb

Did you know there is a graphing calculator hiding inside the Google search engine? What’s more, Google can also do calculations from known physical quantities without having to enter their numeric values. And Google converts units as needed!

Mathematics

Real Life Stories

Published June 13, 2017

Mathematics and Programming in the Cloud with CoCalc

Gabriel Indurskis Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

Cloud computing is an increasingly important part of the college experience in Quebec. With more and more educational establishments using Google Tools, Office 365 and Moodle, there is less and less of an emphasis on having computers with a laundry list of applications installed. When you can fire up a web browser and have access to a wide range of tools, it is a game-changer. The field of mathematics is also well-entrenched within this computing trend, with the appearance of cloud-based innovations in the past couple of years, not the least of which is a powerful platform for cloud computing known as SageMathCloud, which has recently been rebranded as CoCalc. Since this name change is very recent, most of the information and tutorials on the internet still make reference to the old name, and this article will use both names interchangeably.

Mathematics

Page 1 of 2