Profweb
The Web Space is currently unavailable. Please contact the support line for more information: 418 647-6600, ext. 3831.

Search results

16 search results for 'Distance Learning' 'Communication' 'Social Medias' 'Press reviews' > Mathematics (16) : Publications in Profweb (16)

Publications in Profweb (16)

Digital Tools

GeoGebra: What’s That?

Published February 24, 2017  |  Mathematics

Charles Laporte Teacher, Collège LaSalle

GeoGebra is a free software tool that was specifically designed for teaching and learning mathematics. GeoGebra works equally well on computers, tablets and smartphones. GeoGebra is also accessible online without the need to download the software.

Real Life Stories

Bringing Learners Together Using Desmos

Published December 2, 2012  |  Mathematics

David Adley Teacher (retired), Dawson College

Developing an online algebra course, David Adley started to look around for a tool that was readily accessible which would enable him to show graphs in an enhanced way. He came across a free readily available, cloud-based software called Desmos which facilitates online learning as well as the implementation of the flipped classroom and simultaneously enhances mathematical and digital literacy.

Real Life Stories

Renewing the Quantitative Methods Course by Anchoring it in Real Life

Published March 18, 2019  |  Mathematics

Nadia Laflamme Teacher, Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Since 2013, gradually, my colleagues Annie Turcotte and Steve Fortin, and I have reviewed in depth the way that we were giving the Quantitative Methods course. We now give the class in an ALC (active learning classroom), and engage in activities based on problem situations anchored in real life. For one activity, we collaborate with local community organizations: the students utilise their competencies to respond to the needs of those organizations.

Real Life Stories

“Video Selfies” in Class

Published October 27, 2015  |  Mathematics

Charles Laporte Teacher, Collège LaSalle

The idea to suggest to my students that they use their mobile device to make videos came to me while I was presenting the solution to a problem in my Linear Algebra and Vector Geometry class. I wanted to let the students put mathematics operations into their own words, so that they could verbalize what they were thinking and explain the solution while they were doing it. Doing this with a paper-based assignment seemed a bit too laborious. Instead, why not try to use a selfie video (filming themselves)? This also allowed me to touch on one of the higher levels of competency in Bloom’s Taxonomy (we moved from working on matrices to explaining and even analysing these operations while in the process of resolving them).

Real Life Stories

Linear Algebra and Vector Geometry - Not Yet Fun and Games

Published February 10, 2013  |  Mathematics

Manon Fiset Resource Development Advisor, Cégep à distance
Laurence Lachapelle-Bégin Educational Advisor, VTÉ

From the start, the priority of the design team for cégep à distance's course Linear Algebra and Vector Geometry was to find applications with meaning for the Humanities students taking the course or to make examples that were relevant to everyone's daily life. The motivation of students, however, was not the only technological or pedagogical challenge that the design team had to tackle.

Real Life Stories

Managing Student Questions with the Piazza Q&A Platform

Published March 12, 2019  |  Mathematics

Gabriel Indurskis Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

As a busy teacher, I am always on the lookout for technologies that help me to most efficiently use my time. For the last 2 years I have adopted the Piazza.com Q&A platform to help me manage material-related student questions in all my CEGEP mathematics courses (Calculus, Linear Algebra, Statistics, etc.), rather than using e-mail or MIO. It helps me to avoid answering the same question over and over and empowers students to answer questions among themselves.

Articles

DawsonITE for the Week of December 8

Published December 7, 2014  |  Mathematics

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

This week, DawsonITE resources seek to bridge the gap between reality and the virtual world. Often, those resources seem to be teachers. The guide on the side really turns out to be more central than the name would suggest!

Articles

Contributions from Mathematics 201

Published October 12, 2014  |  Mathematics

Norm Spatz Editor (retired), Profweb

Second in our discipline-specific articles on resources available on Profweb is Mathematics - Discipline 201. Profweb is here to help you reevaluate your pedagogy in the light of information technology integration (IT). For the Mathematics teacher a number of very discipline-specific questions arise.

Real Life Stories

Rappin’ Calc on YouTube

Published February 21, 2011  |  Mathematics

Pooyan Haghighat Teacher, Collège Centennial

Many people are aware of the link between mathematics and music. I feel that I am part of a long tradition of mathematical musicians, being a product of the intensive music program at Pierre Laporte High School in the Town of Mount Royal. We learned everything about music. There were fourteen classes instead of the standard eight in our curriculum, and six of those classes were music related. We had choir practice, music history, vocal theory, music literature etc. I finished the program well-versed in music and also learned how to write music. So, the account that follows is really a logical result of my background and my own education.

Real Life Stories

Making IT and Mathematics Compute!

Published October 4, 2009  |  Mathematics

Lyse Favreau Coordinator, Profweb
François Laflèche Teacher, Cégep de l'Outaouais
Line Raymond Teacher, Cégep de l'Outaouais

The Mathematics Department at Cégep de l'Outaouais explains the road it traveled to choose its learning platform and how a plug-in motivated their final selection.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published March 18, 2019

Renewing the Quantitative Methods Course by Anchoring it in Real Life

Nadia Laflamme Teacher, Cégep de Lévis-Lauzon

Since 2013, gradually, my colleagues Annie Turcotte and Steve Fortin, and I have reviewed in depth the way that we were giving the Quantitative Methods course. We now give the class in an ALC (active learning classroom), and engage in activities based on problem situations anchored in real life. For one activity, we collaborate with local community organizations: the students utilise their competencies to respond to the needs of those organizations.

Mathematics

Articles

Published February 27, 2018

Using Google as a Graphing Calculator

Catherine Rhéaume Editor, Profweb

Did you know there is a graphing calculator hiding inside the Google search engine? What’s more, Google can also do calculations from known physical quantities without having to enter their numeric values. And Google converts units as needed!

Mathematics

Real Life Stories

Published June 13, 2017

Mathematics and Programming in the Cloud with CoCalc

Gabriel Indurskis Teacher, Champlain College - Campus Saint-Lambert

Cloud computing is an increasingly important part of the college experience in Quebec. With more and more educational establishments using Google Tools, Office 365 and Moodle, there is less and less of an emphasis on having computers with a laundry list of applications installed. When you can fire up a web browser and have access to a wide range of tools, it is a game-changer. The field of mathematics is also well-entrenched within this computing trend, with the appearance of cloud-based innovations in the past couple of years, not the least of which is a powerful platform for cloud computing known as SageMathCloud, which has recently been rebranded as CoCalc. Since this name change is very recent, most of the information and tutorials on the internet still make reference to the old name, and this article will use both names interchangeably.

Mathematics

Page 1 of 2