Profweb

Search results

1064 search results for 'Distance Learning' 'Active Learning' 'Community of Learners' 'Flipped Classroom' 'Information Presentation' 'Collaboration' 'Laboratory' 'Digital Learning Environments' 'Tips' 'Explanation of a product' 'Press reviews' : Publications in Profweb (1064)

Publications in Profweb (1064)

Real Life Stories

The Low-Tech Active Learning Classroom at Cégep de Sept-Îles

Published October 13, 2017  |  Multidisciplinary

Sharon Coyle Teacher, Cégep de Sept-Îles

The term active learning classroom usually evokes images of a sleek space packed with all of the latest technological bells and whistles. Not so at Cégep de Sept-Îles. To fit our teaching and learning needs and goals, we consciously opted for a classroom where inter-activity – not technology – plays a central role. This being 2017, of course it doesn’t mean we relegated electronic devices altogether. Here’s the story that explains the “how” and “why” of our low-tech active learning classroom.

Articles

A Focus on Learning Technology and the Technology of Learning

Published February 17, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Nicole Perreault REPTIC Community Leader, Fédération des cégeps

Nicole Perreault, moderator of the IT Representatives' Network, asks us to consider the use of information technology as a pedagogical tool as well as the conditions required for its successful integration into the classroom. These issues will be front and center in Montreal in the coming months as a number of the city's colleges organize educational technology weeks and the AQPC, being held this June in Montreal, also focuses on information technology issues.

Articles

Flipping to Promote Active Learning and Engagement in a Physics Classroom

Published April 1, 2019  |  Physics

Susan MacNeil Editor, Profweb

Patrick Rogers teaches Physics at Marianopolis College. Over the past 5 years he has redesigned his students’ learning environment. He now uses the flipped classroom approach to allow for more time to activate student engagement in class.

Articles

Creating an Inclusive Online Learning Environment with Office 365 Teams and the OneNote Class Notebook

Published April 15, 2019  |  Multidisciplinary

Caroline Demers Teacher, Cégep Garneau

The Office 365 OneNote Class Notebook is my favorite online tool for distributing course content as it greatly facilitates note taking and includes the Immersive Reader, which is a great tool for eliminating difficulties related to screen-based reading. By integrating my class notebook into the Office 365 Teams application, I have developed a very comprehensive collaborative and structured learning environment allowing all tasks to be completed in one place.

Articles

CCDMD’s Online Learning Center Learns from the Community

Published May 17, 2010  | 

Minda Miloff Researcher, CCDMD

Since the end of January, as part of an overall plan to develop the CCDMD Online English Language Learning Centre, CCDMD has been actively seeking input from a variety of CEGEP professionals about their interest in and use of CCDMD resources. Being able to establish a clearer picture of who currently uses their resources and which resources, is critical to their future planning and development.

Articles

Teaching in an Active Learning Classroom

Published April 17, 2011  |  Multidisciplinary

Raymond Cantin Project Manager, Vitrine technologie-éducation

La Vitrine Technologie-Éducation takes you on a tour of new classrooms at McGill University. Teachers discuss how spaces and furnishings encourage student interaction and active learning.

Articles

Big Ideas Facilitating a Shift Toward Distance Learning

Published March 27, 2020  |  Multidisciplinary

John Spencer Teacher, George Fox University

As an education professor, I’ve had the opportunity to help teachers develop online and hybrid courses. One of the most common questions people asked me was, “How do I convert my face-to-face course into an online course?” The truth is, you cannot convert it. Learning isn’t like a file that converts between a .doc and a PDF and a Google Doc. We can’t simply substitute new tools and do the same exact activity. But what if we chose a different approach? What if we asked, “How do I transform my course?” rather than “How do I convert it?” The following are a few ideas to consider as you shift toward online / distance learning.

Articles

Tricks and Tips to Facilitate Learning

Published May 11, 2009  | 

Isabelle Trudeau Educational Advisor, Cégep à distance

The success of our students is at the heart of our mission, and the raison d'être of our organizations. And regardless of whether we provide in-class instruction or deliver distance education, we are always looking for ways to assist our students to develop their personal and professional skills.

Articles

ICT in Review – Papers from the 2013 AQPC Symposium

Published September 1, 2013  |  Multidisciplinary

Fanny Kingsbury Director General, AQPC

Fanny Kingsbury, the director-general of the AQPC (Association québécoise de pédagogie collégiale) reviews various papers related to information technology that were presented at the association's 2013 symposium. If you missed a presentation or you want to learn more about certain themes, a number of presenters have deposited related documentation on the AQPC site.

Real Life Stories

Active Learning Classrooms in Service of French Lit

Published September 22, 2015  |  French (Language and Literature)

Étienne Bourdages Teacher, Collège Ahuntsic

Just prior to the student strike in 2012, the administration at our college presented an active learning classroom implementation project codenamed CLAAC (for Classe d’apprentissage actif). This initiative was part of a vast reasearch project that brought a few colleges from Quebec together with the Université de Montréal. I’ve been teaching French literature for about 8 years and was interested in experimenting with some new ways of presenting my class. I was already interested in integrating ICTs into my teaching, but I was more or less traditional in my approach. So when the opportunity arose, I jumped at the chance to get involved.

Most viewed results

Real Life Stories

Published August 24, 2014

Meeting Students Where They’re At!

Becki George Teacher, Northland College
Kelly La Venture Teacher, Bemidji State University

Kelly La Venture and Becki George of Northland College Wisconsin presented a workshop on hybrid instruction at the recent Canadian International Conference on Education (CICE) at Cape Breton University in Sydney, Nova Scotia from June 16-19, 2014. After their workshop, in conversation with Profweb’s Norm Spatz, they elaborated on their motivation for creating and teaching hybrid classes. Kelly’s and Becki’s remarks are testimonials that providing flexible learning approaches builds contentment among students – helping Quebec college students master ICT profile skills.

Multidisciplinary

Articles

Published January 18, 2018

3 Platforms to Create Video-Based Tasks that Actively Engage Students

Andy Van Drom Editor, Profweb

In 2018, cell phones, tablets and computers combined with free applications or software give us the ability to create high quality video and broadcast it within moments. The internet gives us access to vast free video resources. Yet in spite of these technological innovations, students still consume digital media mostly passively in classroom settings. Three free online platforms allow you to create different types of video-based tasks that engage your students more actively.

Multidisciplinary

Featured Reports

Published September 3, 2018

Active Learning

Jean Desjardins Educational Advisor, Cégep du Vieux Montréal
Isabelle Senécal Director of Teaching, of Pedagogical Innovation and of International Development, Collège Sainte-Anne

The active learning methods have in common of placing the students in the middle of the learning process. Their teachers can then also think about giving them a role in the planning of the evaluation. Active learning is inspired by real-life contexts that are meaningful for the students, which can increase their level of motivation for the tasks that are suggested to them. It encourages durable learnings rather than using only their short-term memory.

Multidisciplinary

Page 3 of 107